A Month in the Life

I’m feeling bloggy but I’ve been pretty heavy lately, so I thought I’d do a little lighter post about what’s been going on in Mooga-land.

Life on the professional front is going swimmingly.  I went back up to 30 hours a week at the beginning of the year after 1.5 years of 15-20 hours a week.  It was a little bit of an adjustment at first, but I’ve gotten the rhythm of the week down.  This schedule is a little bit more hectic but it still gives me the flexibility I need to keep sane.  I’m very thankful for such a great employer who allows me such flexibility– I know it’s a privilege, and I don’t take it for granted.  I also found out in January that I got elected to the state bar association’s Board of Governors.  I will take office in July, and if my local bar members stay happy with me, I can serve up to six years as a Governor.  I’m honored that my fellow lawyers have placed their trust in my, and I can’t wait to get started.

Things are also pretty good at home.  Bug is still loving her school and is thriving notwithstanding her dyslexia.  She had a recent major (for a first grader!) research and writing project, and that of course was taxing for her.  The “creative” part was fun, though. Bug was assigned the Royal Penguin, and decided to make a papier-mache version.  Princess, as she was dubbed, turned out great!

Princess the Royal Penguin

Speaking of dyslexia, we’ve hit a serious wall in tutoring.  The tutor has suggested coming to school and tutoring during school hours, which would be a godsend for us as a family.  I’m meeting with Bug’s teacher today to try to get it worked out.  If this works, it would be such a relief.

Bug has been dying for some snow since we got a grand total of zero inches last winter.  I can’t say we’ve had much, but we have had two small snows which gave Bug enough to play in:

Snow Bug 2 2013Snow Bug 1 2013 

Snow Bug 3 2013

 

Poor Bug has also had mono for (apparently) about six months.  She’s usually just been a little tired, but it’s left her vulnerable to every virus that comes her way.  Last week she got hit by a particularly nasty one that knocked her down for about five days.  She was miserable:

Sick Bug 2013

 

Luckily she’s bounced back.  Good thing because today is the last day of her afterschool Flamenco class.  Performance is tonight!  I’ll try to post a video if i can get a good one.

So that’s what’s been going on in Mooga-land.  Here’s to the upcoming spring, good weather, good health, and smoother tutoring!

 

 

About mad momma moogacat

I am a 40-year old mother, wife, lawyer and pop culture fiend who is looking for some beauty and meaning in life. I write about parenting, adoption, mental health, work-life balance, and pop culture. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Mommyhood, Work, Work-Life Balance (Ha!). Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Month in the Life

  1. TAO says:

    Congrats on your upcoming role!

    Tell Bug that Penguin is CUTE. I took one of the evening classes and made a chicken and it sucked big time – scary looking creature. again, Bugs Penguin is wonderful and I’m jealous. Perhaps she has some artistic talents to be uncovered?

    • Thanks TAO– we both had a lot of fun making that penguin. She was so proud of herself, even when presenting it to her class. She definitely has some artistic talent– she loves to draw and paint and has great color sense. Thankfully she’s in a school with a good art program so that talent can be nurtured.

Leave a Reply

