In honor of National Adoption Awareness Month, an old post on the reality of adoption.

Mad Momma Moogacat

Even though the popular view of adoption is one of rainbows, unabashed happiness, and joy, there’s just no getting past the unescapable fact that at its base adoption is about pain.   I’ll use as an example my Bug.  This morning on the way to daycare Bug declared “You know what?  I don’t remember what my birth parents look like anymore.”  Now the fact that she was 4 days old the last time she saw them and so never really had any conscious memories of them is beside the point.  I asked her if this made her sad, and she said yes.  I also asked her if she wanted to know them one day, to which she also said yes.

I completely get this.  I know some adoptees don’t care a whit about finding their birthparents, but I know as a kid I was obsessed with biological connections– I wanted to know about family…

View original post 455 more words

About mad momma moogacat

I am a 40-year old mother, wife, lawyer and pop culture fiend who is looking for some beauty and meaning in life. I write about parenting, adoption, mental health, work-life balance, and pop culture. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

