Thankful Tuesday

I realize Thankful Thursday would have a better ring to it, but I have to write when the mood strikes!

Today I am so exceedingly thankful for Bug’s new school.  I knew things were going well, and that Bug wasn’t fighting going in the morning, but I didn’t know just how much she liked it until yesterday.  Bug had a therapist appointment yesterday, and she stayed in with the doctor 50 minutes chattering away.  The therapist came and got me at the end, saying she needed to chat.  I was worried at first, but all she wanted to tell me was that Bug loves her new school, and that she (the therapist) could see such a radical difference in Bug’s demeanor between last school year and this one.  The therapist said she’d never seen Bug so happy. Bug even told her that she was sad over the weekend because she couldn’t go to school! 

I can’t even express what a relief this is for us.  Last school year was hellish.  Bug cried and fought going for months, and even when she didn’t fight us in the morning it was obvious she was miserable.  Now she bounds into school and loves to talk about how much fun she is having when I pick her up.

When I was a kid I loved school.  I know everyone feels differently and I can’t expect Bug to have my exact experience, but I was so sad for her when kindergarten went so badly.  All I could think about was that kindergarten is supposed to be fun– it’s only downhill from there (ha ha!), so if you are starting at the bottom of the hill what were things going to be like in middle and high school?  I feel so thankful and fortunate that Bug has another chance to find out that learning can be fun.   And so relieved.  Phew!

About mad momma moogacat

I am a 40-year old mother, wife, lawyer and pop culture fiend who is looking for some beauty and meaning in life. I write about parenting, adoption, mental health, work-life balance, and pop culture. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Mommyhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

