The eternal quest . . .

Last Friday was my last day at the law firm I’ve practiced with for the past 13 and a half years.  I start at a new firm tomorrow.  It will be very strange to leave daycare in the morning and drive a different direction to work, walk into a new building, and start setting up a new office, one I’m only supposed to see two or three days a week rather than the five days a week I’d been working.  Score!

I can’t even begin to say how excited I am about this.  I have been killing myself trying to figure out how to balance my career with my mommy duties, and my biggest hope is that working part time will help me find more of that elusive balance.  I can honestly say pre-Bug that I never thought I would go part time.  My career was a huge part of my self-identity, and though I said out loud that I didn’t judge mothers who scaled back their careers in order to devote more time to their kids, I know deep down I did.  I thought they were sellouts to the cause.  I don’t consider my change of heart selling out at this point– it’s self preservation.  I just can’t keep up, and a sane mommy is a good mommy.  I wish I had understood that earlier.

I’m not naive enough to think that this is the answer to all my balance problems.  I know no mommy feels like she devotes enough time to her family.  I do think the move to part time work will bring some much needed sanity to our household, and I’m all for that.  And for any other working mommy who feels like a sellout for cutting back– be good to yourself.  We are all just trying to do the best we can.  This is a hard job, and doubt and self-flagellation don’t do anyone any good.

About mad momma moogacat

I am a 40-year old mother, wife, lawyer and pop culture fiend who is looking for some beauty and meaning in life. I write about parenting, adoption, mental health, work-life balance, and pop culture. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Mommyhood, Work-Life Balance (Ha!). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

