Boo You! Monday: the word “lame”

My Boo You! for today is for the ubiquitous use of the word “lame” to mean bad. 

Just think about that for a second– is it truly any more insulting to use “gay” than “lame”?  Yet we have public service announcements about using gay as a slur (I wholeheartedly agree with the PSAs, by the way– we shouldn’t use gay that way), but “lame” is used everywhere.  Even all over kids’ shows on Disney Channel, much to my chagrin.  I also frequently see it on a web forum where the adoption of children with medical needs is discussed.  I can’t believe it when I see parents of children with spina bifida or other neurological or orthopedic needs use the term, but they do.  It’s that pervasive. 

Think about how a mobility-impaired person, particularly a child, must feel when they hear “lame” used to express distaste or dislike.  It can’t feel good.  There have got to be better ways to get a point across than to categorize a whole group of people as bad or less than. 

I know I’m fighting an uphill battle, and that most people’s reaction would be that I need to lighten up.  But you have to start somewhere, right?  So, Boo You! “lame.”  And go away.

About mad momma moogacat

I am a 40-year old mother, wife, lawyer and pop culture fiend who is looking for some beauty and meaning in life. I write about parenting, adoption, mental health, work-life balance, and pop culture. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Boo You!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boo You! Monday: the word “lame”

  1. bcubbage says:

    This is absolutely right on. I’ve had my eyes opened to this issue before, and you’re right– it is everywhere.

Leave a Reply

