Death of a Thousand Pink Cuts

My child is a girly-girl.  Princess-loving, tiara-coveting, pink-wearing girly-girl.  I am not.  Never have been, never will be.  After angsting much over whether by indulging her girly-girl tendencies I’m going to turn her into a monster, I’ve decided to lighten up and just go with it.  It’s apparently developmentally appropriate to have a princess obsession at age 4, and I definitely don’t want to send her the message that things deemed girly are bad.  So, when G asked me if Bug would like to come to the Fancy Nancy Tea Party at his library, I gave in and said yes.

My instincts were right– Bug loved it, though she pitched her princess dress before we even got inside the tea party because it was itchy.  No matter.  She listened to books being read, she ate her snacks and drank her pink lemonade, and thrilled to the sights of teenagers dancing in pink tutus:

Ah, to be a four year old and totally at ease with traditional gender roles!

About mad momma moogacat

I am a 40-year old mother, wife, lawyer and pop culture fiend who is looking for some beauty and meaning in life. I write about parenting, adoption, mental health, work-life balance, and pop culture. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Mommyhood, Pop Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

