Who am I? Why am I here?

Hello world!  I’m Amy, and I’m a blogger.

I’m really not sure how to start this, though I’ve had an irresistible urge to blog lately, so I’ve stopped fighting and given in.  So, here we go.

I am the wife of a great guy, G, whom I met in college when I was 21 and he was 20.  We’ve been married for 13 great years, and a little over two years ago we were privileged to adopt our daughter, “Bug,” from China.  Bug was 28 months and is now 4.5 going on 14.  Really– the kid has the most incredible mouth on her.  I am amazed at what comes out of it.  She’s a hoot and a half!  We are really in for it as she gets older!  Sadly, she’s learning most of it from me.  I need to learn to keep my mouth shut. 

I am also a lawyer, though that is the source of most of my life frustration.  The modern practice of law really stinks, though given the fact that lawyers for the most part help people who are dealing with crap, I guess it’s probably always been a stinky way to make a living.   The worst part is you are never off the clock, which is hard when you are trying to be a good mother and wife.  Something has to give, and I’ve decided that is work. 

As far as any hobbies go, I am embarrassed to say that I don’t seem to have any these days other than TV watching, a passion that dates to early childhood.  I was raised in front of the TV, and I actively scoff at the American Academy of Pediatrics recommendation that children limit TV watching.  Ha!  I’m not an ax murderer, so my kid can watch all she wants.  (And yes, I realize that logic makes no sense, but I’m going with it.)  I have a love of all things pop culture-wise, and am no longer embarrassed to admit it.

So, if you choose to read my musings you’ll hear about parenting, marriage, adoption, the practice of law, politics (rarely), and pop culture.  Hopefully it won’t bore you to tears.

So in honor of Admiral Stockdale, this is who I am, and why I am here!

About mad momma moogacat

I am a 40-year old mother, wife, lawyer and pop culture fiend who is looking for some beauty and meaning in life. I write about parenting, adoption, mental health, work-life balance, and pop culture. Hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Admin and Such. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who am I? Why am I here?

  1. bcubbage says:

    I never thought I would see the day! I love it– keep it coming! I promoted it on my blog, so all one or two of my readers should visit soon.

Leave a Reply

